Graduate awards

  • Charles M. and Pamela S. Sphar Endowed Scholarship

A $500 award for an outstanding female English Department graduate student with a GPA of 3.0 or better in need of financial assistance. Financial need is established through the Financial Aid Office. Selected by the Department Head in consultation with the Graduate Studies Committee.

  • Diversity Graduate Assistantships

To help departments increase diversity at the graduate level, the Graduate School will offer competitive graduate assistantships to help recruit new students. The award is for one academic year.

  • Elizabeth Jean Wichert Memorial Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship is given to graduate students in English. 

  • Emerson Award

Recognizes outstanding writing by graduate students in English. One Sutherland-McManus award-winning selection will be cited as the Emerson Award recipient. Selected by the Graduate Studies Committee. 

  • English Department Graduate Student Travel Grants

The Department of English will award competitive travel grants for graduate students to attend conferences, meetings, workshops, or external collaborations. Grants are designed to help defray travel, hotel, and per diem costs in order to increase opportunity for students to attend conferences, workshops, collaborations, and/or exhibits with the purpose of advancing their careers. To apply the applicant must be a full time graduate student in good academic standing (minimum NMSU graduate GPA of 3.0). An award(s) may range from $250 to $500 per semester. The Graduate Studies Committee will review applications and select award winners and provide recommendations to the chair of the department.

  • English Department Research and Creative Activities Awards

Awarded annually to one or more graduate students in support of expenses related to academic research or creative activities. Selected by the Graduate Studies Committee.

  • Keith Wilson/Joe Somoza Poetry Prize

In honor of retired NMSU faculty members Keith Wilson and Joe Somoza, three awards are decided by an outside judge and the Creative Writing faculty and awarded to outstanding graduate student poets enrolled in the MFA in Creative Writing program.

  • Merit-based Enhancement Award

The Graduate School is pleased to offer Merit-Based Enhancement awards to graduate assistants. The purpose of the award is to reward graduate assistants that have performed outstanding service to New Mexico State University as a teaching, research, or administrative assistant.

  • NM Higher Education Department Fellowship Award

The Graduate School administers one of the fellowships of the New Mexico Higher Education Department. The purpose of the fellowship/assistantship is to “increase graduate enrollment in the state’s public universities of students from groups underrepresented in graduate education” (Title 5 Post-Secondary Education, 5.7.15 NM Administrative Code).  

  • Outstanding GA Award

The Graduate School offers Outstanding Graduate Assistant awards of $2,000 to recognize the contributions of graduate assistants to the teaching and research mission of New Mexico State University. The awards allow faculty to show appreciation for the excellent work of graduate assistants. Current graduate assistants must be nominated by their faculty to be considered for the awards.

  • Preparing Future Faculty Graduate Assistantship

The Preparing Future Faculty Graduate Assistantship Award is designed to promote the development of the next generation of faculty at community colleges and institutions of higher education. The program requires students to work 10 hours a week for an instructional unit on campus and participate in the Preparing Future Faculty workshops of the Graduate School. Salaries for the 10 hours a week award are based on the three levels of payment of graduate assistants ranging from $7,900 to $8,100 per academic year.

  • Ruth Scott Academy of American Poets Prize

Awarded annually to a graduate student poet enrolled in the MFA in Creative Writing program. This award is decided by an outside judge and the Creative Writing faculty.

  • Stuart C. Brown Award for Excellence in Writing and Teaching

Awarded annually to one or more outstanding graduate students in Rhetoric and Professional Communication M.A. or Ph.D. programs.

  • Sutherland-McManus Memorial English Scholarships

$250 awards given annually to graduate students who have written for an English class either 1) the best literary critical essay, or 2) the best work of nonfiction prose (including essays, reports, and electronic documents). Selected by the Graduate Studies Committee.

  • The Frank Waters Fiction Lectureships

Awarded annually to three outstanding fiction writing graduate students enrolled in the MFA in Creative Writing. This award is decided by an outside judge and the Creative Writing faculty. 

  • Tuition Fellowship Award

The purpose of the tuition fellowship is to help departments recruit outstanding graduate students to their programs. The tuition fellowships do not include fees (required and other fees such as course, lab and/or technology fees) and are limited to entering first year students that have been awarded a graduate assistantship.  

  • Vera Newman Rule Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Substantial monetary awards will be given each year to an outstanding master’s and doctoral student with the highest GPA. Selected by the Department Head in consultation with the Graduate Studies Committee. No applications accepted.

< Back

This entry was posted in Scholarships & Awards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.